Connect with us


Two Manchester United players included in FWA Footballer of the Year list



| Last Updated:


Two Manchester United players were included in the 18-man shortlist for the FWA Footballer of the Year.

Despite it being a disappointing campaign for Erik ten Hag’s side, two of the Dutchman’s United players were recognised for their performances over the last year in the voting for this award.

Phil Foden won the award with the Manchester City star receiving a giant 42 per cent of the overall votes. Arsenal midfielder Declan Rice finished behind his England teammate.

However, two United players also received votes that suggested they had been the best players within the Premier League this season.

Other shock names included Luton Town midfielder Ross Barkley and Aston Villa captain John McGinn.

Bruno Fernandes was recognised for his impressive season despite the struggles at Old Trafford. He has 10 goals and seven assists in the Premier League this term, but it’s surprising to see any United player voted for the award at all during this season.

The other Red Devil with votes was Diogo Dalot, who has surprisingly had his best season during this difficult spell at United.

He has started 31 of the club’s 33 Premier League fixtures so far and only missed the visit to West Ham in December after a questionable red card he received against Liverpool.

Dalot and Fernandes will likely be two of the main contenders for United’s own Player of the Season award at the end of the campaign.

The full 18-man list for the FWA Footballer of the Year

Phil Foden, Declan Rice, Rodri, Martin Odegaard, Ollie Watkins, Cole Palmer, Bruno Fernandes, Virgil Van Dijk, Mohamed Salah, Bukayo Saka, Bruno Guimaraes, Diogo Dalot, Bernardo Silva, John McGinn, Alexis Mac Allister, Son Heung Min, Jarrod Bowen, Ross Barkley