Connect with us

Match Coverage

Manchester United predicted XI vs Crystal Palace with two full debuts expected (Carabao Cup)



| Last Updated:


Manchester United are set to start their Carabao Cup defence with a home fixture against Crystal Palace in the competition.

Manchester United are the current holders of the Carabao Cup trophy, with Erik ten Hag securing the competition as the first piece of silverware in his career as United manager last campaign.

It was Casemiro and Marcus Rashford who netted the goals past Newcastle United in a 2-0 victory, although the former is expected to be rested as the club re-enter the competition for the first time since winning it.

Read More: Four Manchester United players ‘don’t spark fear in opponents’, says former Premier League striker

The fixture, against Crystal Palace at Old Trafford, could be the perfect chance to introduce Altay Bayındır to United fans, who signed as Andrè Onana’s back-up in the summer.

With injuries to the current back line rife, the chances are that this will remain unchanged from the Burnley win, meaning in front of Bayındır will be Diogo Dalot, Victor Lindelöf, Jonny Evans, and Sergio Reguilón. Raphaël Varane returned to action as United beat Burnley, but the fixture likely comes too fast for him to be able to start.

With Casemiro set to be rested, the match represents the perfect chance for Sofyan Amrabat to gain his first start for the club, with Mason Mount and Christian Eriksen joining him as Bruno Fernandes earns some rest – although, Mount’s availability will be dependent on his fitness as he returns from injury.

In attack, although Rasmus Højlund has started the last two games, it may be wise for Ten Hag to rest the Dane for the weekend as he continues to manage his load after his back injury, meaning Rashford would take the reigns up front.

The England international would then be joined by Alejandro Garnacho on the left-hand side and Facundo Pellistri on the right.

Predicted XI

Bayındır; Dalot, Evans, Lindelöf, Reguilón; Amrabat, Mount, Eriksen; Pellistri, Rashford, Garnacho.