Connect with us


Manchester United make Rasmus Hojlund and Alejandro Garnacho statement as 2023/24 shirt numbers confirmed



| Last Updated:


Credit: IMAGO / Icon Sportswire

Manchester United have confirmed their provisional player shirt numbers for the 2023/24 campaign with Alejandro Garnacho and Rasmus Højlund’s numbers still up in the air.

With the Premier League season kicking off this weekend, The Reds are looking to improve upon their third-place finish last term.

Erik ten Hag has added Mason Mount, Andre Onana and Rasmus Højlund to his side so far this summer.

Mount was given the famous no.7 shirt whilst Onana opted against wearing the no.1 shirt and instead chose the no.24 that he’s wore at both Inter Milan and Ajax. Meanwhile, Højlund, who will not immediately become available due to a slight injury concern, is still without a shirt number.

“New signing Rasmus Højlund has not yet been given a number as he works to reach match fitness following his arrival from Atalanta. The centre-forward’s number will be confirmed in due course,” the club wrote in their official list of provisional squad numbers they have submitted to the Premier League.

Another young star in the form of Alejandro Garnacho will continue with the no.49 although the club have warned fans to take into consideration the fact he, and others, could change if sales are made in the coming week.

United added: “Others will start the season in their existing numbers, including Alejandro Garnacho as 49, but with the possibility of change after the transfer window closes when it will be clear which other numbers in the squad are vacant.

“Fans are urged to consider this risk when buying numbered replica jerseys in the next few weeks.”

Another point to note is the full squad number list that Manchester United announced, which can be viewed below, does not include Mason Greenwood – everyone else excluded from the list, such as Eric Bailly, is not expected to have a future at the club.

Greenwood has been and remains suspended from the squad since January 2022 after footage alleging domestic abuse surfaced on social media – although his case was ultimately dropped by the Crown Prosecution Service.

The full provisional squad number list can be seen below:

2 Victor Lindelof
5 Harry Maguire
6 Lisandro Martinez
7 Mason Mount
8 Bruno Fernandes
9 Anthony Martial
10 Marcus Rashford
12 Tyrell Malacia
14 Christian Eriksen
16 Amad
17 Fred
18 Casemiro

19 Raphael Varane
20 Diogo Dalot
21 Antony
22 Tom Heaton (GK)
23 Luke Shaw
24 Andre Onana (GK)
25 Jadon Sancho
26 Dean Henderson (GK)
28 Facundo Pellistri
29 Aaron Wan-Bissaka
33 Brandon Williams
34 Donny van de Beek
37 Kobbie Mainoo
39 Scott McTominay
49 Alejandro Garnacho