Connect with us


Manchester United legend claims ZERO of Erik ten Hag’s players would get in the 1999 squad



| Last Updated:


Dwight Yorke, a key part of United’s 1999 treble-winning team, has slammed the current United squad, stating none of them could get in that famous squad.

Yorke, who has previously suggested that United should sign Son Heung-Min, in a move he believed Sir Alex Ferguson would do has on several occasions voiced his concerns over the United team.

Meanwhile, his former teammate Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has praised United’s frontline, especially Rasmus Højlund who he told fans he would have “loved” to work with.

Read More: Donny van de Beek’s latest ’embarrassment’ explained by Frankfurt boss amid Man United callout

Yorke, who offered Højlund the “benefit of the doubt”, praised both Marcus Rashford and Alejandro Garnacho, before doubling down on his belief that none of United’s current team are at the level of the treble winners.

“None of Man United’s players could get in the ‘99 team – they aren’t good enough!” Yorke would tell Gambling Zone. “I still think Rashford is the best player at the club. Whether it’s personal or he’s not been happy at the club, I’m not sure, but he is Man United’s best player at the moment.

Watch Here: Man United Break UEFA Record? | Scouts Sent To Bayern | What The Devil? Ep 04

“The quicker we realise that and the manager gets his star player playing the way he should play, that’s the most important thing. 

“Rashford is the biggest earner at the club, we just need to get him back playing. Garnacho is also a good player but none of the current players would get into the ‘99 team.”

Made up of stars such as Yorke, Solskjaer, the Class of 92, Denis Irwin and Roy Keane, United’s 1999 treble-winning team would lose just three Premier League games that campaign.

Additionally, the side would miss out on the League Cup, losing in the quarter-finals to eventual winners Tottenham Hotspur.

Whilst still a long way off coming close to replicating the feats of the ’99 treble winners, Erik ten Hag’s men did manage to win the League (Carabao) Cup last season. –