Connect with us

Match Coverage

Manchester United squad vs Lyon revealed as two players pick up injuries



| Last Updated:


Credit: IMAGO / Focus Images

Manchester United have named their 24-man squad to face up against Lyon in Edinburgh on Wednesday as former Red Jonny Evans signs a short-term deal with the club.

This contract will allow the defender who won the Premier League at Old Trafford to take part in pre-season fixtures against the Ligue 1 side as well as Wrexham in the United States. He has been training with the youth team and first-team squad in recent weeks.

He will be joined by a host of young talent in Scotland, at the Murrayfield Stadium, as Erik ten Hag looks to test the academy players in order to assess where they are currently in their development.

Two players, alongside Evans, have returned to the squad in the form of young winger Omari Forson and midfielder Donny van de Beek, who has now recovered from a knee injury.

On the other hand, however, there have been two Reds who will be unable to play in Scotland or during the US tour, with both Tyrell Malacia and Rhys Bennett picking up injuries.

Noam Emeran keeps his place in the squad after impressing with a goal and assist against Leeds, whilst Joe Hugill could also get minutes after getting on the end of the French winger’s low-cross for the second goal against the Championship side.

Interestingly, Ten Hag has decided to take three young goalkeepers for the encounter. Nathan Bishop and Matej Kovar travel as well as highly rated 17-year-old Elyh Harrison.

The game will certainly be an interesting one to watch and many youngsters will have opportunities to shine like they did in Norway.

Manchester United’s full travelling squad vs Lyon

Goalkeepers: Nathan Bishop, Elyh Harrison, Matej Kovar.

Defenders: Jonny Evans, Alvaro Fernandez, Will Fish, Marc Jurado, Lisandro Martinez, Raphael Varane, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Brandon Williams.

Midfielders: Fred, Dan Gore, Hannibal, Isak Hansen-Aaroen, Kobbie Mainoo, Mason Mount, Donny van de Beek.

Forwards: Amad, Antony, Noam Emeran, Omari Forson, Joe Hugill, Jadon Sancho.