Connect with us

Match Coverage

Manchester United line-up confirmed vs Copenhagen in Champions League clash



| Last Updated:


Manchester United’s line-up for their crucial Champions League clash against Copenhagen at Old Trafford has been confirmed.

Erik ten Hag’s side are in desperate need of securing three points in this fixture after they lost their opening two fixtures against Bayern Munich and Galatasaray.

It has been a difficult season so far for United, who are sitting 8th in the Premier League table as well. Ten Hag has had to deal with an injury crisis that has seen several first-team regulars ruled out for extended periods.

Raphael Varane returned to the bench last weekend against Sheffield United and came off the bench. He returns to the line-up this evening in an important clash.

Ten Hag also decided against utilising the returning Kobbie Mainoo in the first team as the teenager played 45 minutes for the Under-19s against Copenhagen this afternoon in their eventual 1-0 loss.

Rasmus Hojlund leads the line for The Reds as he looks to continue his own personal impressive form in the elite European competition. He has scored three goals in the opening two games in the group stage.

He will be up against his hometown club this time around and the club which helped him start his professional career.

Despite the Danish side being the perceived weaker side in the group, Ten Hag is not taking the challenge of them travelling to Old Trafford lightly.

“They are doing very well. Against Galatasaray and Bayern Munich they play two very good games,” he said. “So it’s an opponent who is very strong, very physical, very well organised. But as I said, it’s about us and how we play against them.”

The full team news for both sides can be read below.

Manchester United XI: Onana, Dalot, Varane, Maguire, Reguilon, Amrabat, McTominay, Antony, Fernandes, Rashford, Hojlund

Subs: Baynidir, Heaton, Evans, Lindelof, Eriksen, Hannibal, Mount, Pellistri, Garnacho, Martial.

Copenhagen XI: Grabara; Ankersen, Vavro, Diks, Jelert; Lerager, Falk, Gonçalves; Elyounoussi, Claesson, Achouri.

Subs: Khocholava, Sorensen, Tanlongo, Babacar, Oskarsson, Boilesen, Sander, O. Hojlund, Roony, Dithmer