Connect with us

Match Coverage

Bayern Munich confirm travelling squad vs Man United as two key players miss Champions League clash



| Last Updated:


Bayern Munich have confirmed their 19-man squad to face Manchester United at Old Trafford in their final Champions League group fixture.

The German club have already secured their place in the knock-out rounds and are guaranteed to top the group no matter what the result is in England on Wednesday.

The Reds, on the other hand, require three points for any hope of qualification into the next stages of the competition. They must also hope for the game between Copenhagen and Galatasaray to end in a draw.

Erik ten Hag’s side are coming off the back of a dreadful performance and result against Bournemouth, where they lost 3-0 with little quality on offer.

Bayern Munich are also looking to bounce back from their own embarrassing defeat after being on the wrong end of a 5-1 result against Eintracht Frankfurt on the weekend.

Harry Kane has explained that the Bundesliga champions are determined to show the ‘right reaction’ at Old Trafford despite having little on the line compared to United.

The centre-forward, who was linked with a move to Ten Hag’s side in the summer, is confirmed to start the clash despite Bayern’s comfortability in the group.

Manuel Neuer is also back in action. The veteran goalkeeper was still in the latter stages of a long-term injury recovery when United visited Munich in September.

Thomas Tuchel’s side is overall extremely strong, but they are missing one key player in Serge Gnabry, who picked up a hamstring injury in their recent defeat away to Eintracht Frankfurt.

The star forward is not in the squad for the Manchester trip, and neither is defender Matthijs de Ligt, who has been out of action with a knee injury since last month.

Bayern Munich’s full travelling squad to face Manchester United in the Champions League can be read in full below:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Daniel Peretz.

Defenders: Dayot Upamecano, Kim Min-jae, Alphonso Davies, Raphael Guerreiro, Noussair Mazraoui, Frans Kratzig.

Midfielders: Joshua Kimmich, Leon Goretzka, Konrad Laimer, Jamal Musiala, Aleksandar Pavlovic.

Attackers: Harry Kane, Leroy Sane, Kingsley Coman, Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Thomas Muller, Mathys Tel.